Alex Koponen akoponen at MOSQUITONET.COM
Mon Mar 12 21:45:26 CET 2001

Comments from Alex.
----- Original Message -----
From: "Maouse" <maouse at FULTON-NET.COM>
Sent: Monday, March 12, 2001 4:23 AM
Subject: Re: wand/staff

> OK, if I'm not mistaken, the WAND OR STAFF can be used to cast a spell at
> certain EL (if it has a spell in it). It can be cast AT THAT EL a number
> times a day. That is to say that if Fred the Wizard doesn't know Lightning
> and picks up an EL 5 Wand of Lightning, he CAN cast it (lightning) at EL
> There is no "bonus" to the EL of the Stored Spells. It simply goes off at
> that EL and NO LANGUAGES add to this.
The language bonus for Dvalinn is in the making of the staff.
Note that Dedicated items have their values changed according to who
they are used against (or by).
> The "bonus" listed is to ALL OTHER
> SPELLS. In otherwords, if Fred has a fireball spell at EL 4, he can cast
> with an ADDITIONAL 5% to his roll (-5% from the roll if you will), it does
> not become an EL 9 fireball (nor lightning). It does NOT affect Combat
> Rolls unless you have a Benign GM, or YOU MADE IT TO DO SO.
> And yes, every enchantment roll MUST be MADE. Not abysmal or not. ANY
> failure destroys the material you are using and you must start from
> scratch. I believe that is straight out of the enchantment spell (although
> it may be enhancement, but I would rule the two the same being they are
> both based on the same theories - ie. permanent magics).
Actually failure (according to the book) only prevents it from being
IN THAT WAY but not from being enchanted in other ways.
> PS. you ONLY get MEP for casting a spell that is in a WAND (if your GM is
> nice). You never get expertise in a Spell for doing this. You do get both
> if you are casting Through a W or S, but you still only cast at your
> original EL, the bonus is only to the % roll.
> -Marcel

More information about the pnp mailing list